Join Today
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    56
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default SPB Shell 3.5/Contacts

    How can I get SPB Mobile Shell to detect my contacts? If i go into contact via my N97 Mini's native menu, it's full with numbersfrom my SIM card. However, going into contcts via SPB Shell is always empty and I can't find a way to get it to show up my contacts?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,259
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: SPB Shell 3.5/Contacts

    SPB Mobile Shell reads contacts from phone memory. So, what you do is open contacts>Settings>Contacts to display>Check Phone memory

    Moved from v5 Modding to s60v5 Forum


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    56
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: SPB Shell 3.5/Contacts

    I undertand that. My point is that all my contacts are on my SIM card (saves losing them with each hard reset/cfw update/change.

    How do I get them from SIM to show up on SPB?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,218
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: SPB Shell 3.5/Contacts

    well..why don't you copy all SIM contact to phone memory? what's the different?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,259
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: SPB Shell 3.5/Contacts

    Theres no option for that. If its possible to mod it, im pretty sure it would be illegal as it would be tampering with the app. So only choice you have is to copy your sim contacts to your phone memory

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    56
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: SPB Shell 3.5/Contacts

    Quote Originally Posted by boyriot
    well..why don't you copy all SIM contact to phone memory? what's the different?
    No difference for usability. Just a big difference when hard resetting or installing new firmware, as that would wipe the phone memory but not SIM memory.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,218
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: SPB Shell 3.5/Contacts

    Quote Originally Posted by Bunford
    No difference for usability. Just a big difference when hard resetting or installing new firmware, as that would wipe the phone memory but not SIM memory.
    then backup using pc suite dude...

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    56
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: SPB Shell 3.5/Contacts

    I shifted my contacts over to phone memory, and set the phone to only display phone memory contacts.

    However, someone just rung me and the number came up on the screen with no name. Any ideas why that would be?

    When I go into 'contacts' on the bottom when SPB Shell is active it displays all my contacts fine, and the number is associated with the name it should be in there?!?!

  9. #9
    Senior Member zulfan_efendi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,478
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: SPB Shell 3.5/Contacts

    Quote Originally Posted by Bunford
    I shifted my contacts over to phone memory, and set the phone to only display phone memory contacts.

    However, someone just rung me and the number came up on the screen with no name. Any ideas why that would be?

    When I go into 'contacts' on the bottom when SPB Shell is active it displays all my contacts fine, and the number is associated with the name it should be in there?!?!
    Perhaps you have double contact.
    I have a suggestion, hope you don'y mind.
    Backup all your contacts to mmc. After you finished flashing, restore them to your phone memory. If you want to format your mmc, do it after restotre. Then, back up your contacts again to mmc.
    That's what I think. That's what I did. Cheers.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,259
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: SPB Shell 3.5/Contacts

    Bunford, does that contact have more than one number in his name? like for mobile and home? this was a bug in spb while it was in beta and it might not be solved just yet in the official releases


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. M-Shell for S60 V5 & V3
    By djscope in forum Symbian S60v5 Apps
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 08:08 PM
  2. 10 hs in spb shell
    By kvsandeepreddy in forum Symbian S60V5 Modding
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-01-2010, 04:31 PM
  3. Think twice before you buy SPB Shell
    By zulfan_efendi in forum Symbian S60v5 Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 05:46 AM
  4. Quick Question ppl ? Restoring contacts, but only contacts.
    By andys5800 in forum Symbian S60v5 Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 12:10 PM
  5. Handy Shell Contacts Screen
    By thermax04 in forum Symbian S60v5 Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-27-2009, 04:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •