Join Today
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: O2 UK 5800 user

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    54
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default O2 UK 5800 user

    Before i start hassling O2 are there any O2 UK users with 5800s on here, if so what is your software version ?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    197
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: O2 UK 5800 user

    My first handset, I got it when it was new, had its product code changed changed, FW updated and hacked. Never had a problem when I returned it after it packed up. Second handset was the same deal.

    They were very helpful, apart from the handset being initially out of stock.

    Currently I have the latest v40 FW, no idea what the previous handsets had, other than the fact they were older LOL

    Why exactly are you going to hassle O2? If the handset is defective they have always been fine with me. Probably don't mention any modifications you may have done just in case though.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    54
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: O2 UK 5800 user

    It isnt hacked and i dont think its faulty i just think O2 are blocking the upgrade, i'm not sure i want to risk changing codes etc so i might just ask O2 first.

    Thanks for your response though

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: O2 UK 5800 user

    I've changed my code and am running V40. Either change your code or wait months for O2 to get their ass into gear. Although saying that the free Ovi maps may make O2 move faster than usual.... I wouldn't hold your breath.



  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    191
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: O2 UK 5800 user

    i'm on o2 too and changed my product code so that i could update to v40. search the forum for a guide on how to change product code but remember if you change your product code then your warranty will be void!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    197
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: O2 UK 5800 user

    Quote Originally Posted by taz_mw
    i'm on o2 too and changed my product code so that i could update to v40. search the forum for a guide on how to change product code but remember if you change your product code then your warranty will be void!
    Never had a problem with a changed product code voiding my warranty with O2. I have returned several faulty handsets with changed prod codes and updated FW, always got a replacement without any problems.

    If the OP decides to do this it is pretty straight forward, just read through the process first to get it clear in your head.

    I have flashed dozens of phones and not had any trouble.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    191
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: O2 UK 5800 user

    Quote Originally Posted by LordTakyon
    Never had a problem with a changed product code voiding my warranty with O2. I have returned several faulty handsets with changed prod codes and updated FW, always got a replacement without any problems.

    If the OP decides to do this it is pretty straight forward, just read through the process first to get it clear in your head.

    I have flashed dozens of phones and not had any trouble.
    thanks for clearing this up i only thought it would be void as other people on the forum have said so

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    197
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: O2 UK 5800 user

    TBH my friend it probably depends on the network operator, O2 have never given me any trouble.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: O2 UK 5800 user

    I have O2 and my 5800 is still on V3.1ish. They're being slow.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    390
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0

    Default Re: O2 UK 5800 user

    For what it's worth my GF has a 5800 with Vodafony in the UK and she was told she would lose her warranty with them if she changed her product code to make use of the the new free OVI maps.

    To cut along story short, after speaking to 3 customer service reps, 3 tech support reps and someone in between, she was put through to a manager who apologised for Vodafony's pathetically slow firmware update system and told her she was free to change the product code and her warranty would remain intact.



 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Nokia 5800 User Agent
    By neubit in forum Symbian S60v5 Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-09-2010, 06:13 PM
  2. 5800 User : Need new feature ? Now is the time to ask Nokia on their forum
    By mucelago in forum Symbian S60v5 Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-24-2009, 04:15 AM
  3. Alert Nokia 5800 Indian User's
    By azadajju in forum Symbian S60v5 Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-28-2009, 06:30 PM
  4. Poll for 5800 User Only
    By mucelago in forum Symbian S60v5 Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-13-2009, 04:38 AM
  5. Replies: 27
    Last Post: 06-01-2009, 08:33 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •